London terror victim awarded medal for ‘courage and devotion’

The British Red Cross, who put the Australian nurse forward for the award, told Nursing Times that it was “difficult to imagine a more deserving recipient”.

“Her friends and family told us that the Florence Nightingale medal would be a high honour for such a devoted nurse”

Dr Barry Klaassen

Ms Boden, who was a senior staff nurse at Guy’s Hospital, was one of eight people killed in the London Bridge terror attacks in 2017.

At an inquest into the deaths which took place at the Old Bailey earlier this month, it was heard that Ms Boden was murdered while trying to help others who were hurt in the attack.

Nearly two years since her death, Ms Boden has received a posthumous Florence Nightingale Medal from the International Committee of the Red Cross.

She was nominated for the award, which recognises “exceptional courage and devotion to victims of armed conflict or natural disaster,” by the British Red Cross.

Dr Barry Klaassen, British Red Cross chief medical adviser, explained to Nursing Times: “Kirsty was someone who dedicated her life to caring for other people.

“She happened to be dining with friends on the evening of the London Bridge attacks, and those present have described how she didn’t hesitate to rush to the scene, her sense of duty compelling her to help,” he said.

“Tragically, while she tended to the injured, Kirsty was brutally attacked herself, and later died,” he told Nursing Times. “She showed astounding courage, compassion and selflessness in putting herself in harm’s way to help others.”

Originally from South Australia, 28 year-old Ms Boden worked as a senior staff nurse in recovery at Guy’s, which is part of Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust.

“Her friends and family told us that the Florence Nightingale medal would be a high honour for such a devoted nurse,” said Dr Klaassen, “and it is difficult to imagine a more deserving recipient,” he added.

In total, 29 nurses from across 19 countries were awarded the medal.

The recipients were nominated by their respective National Red Cross or Red Crescent Society and selected by a commission comprised of the ICRC, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies and the International Council of Nurses.